Visit Sri Lanka During ICC World Twenty20 2012 With Away Holidays

Search This Blog

Friday, October 15, 2010

ICC Cricket World Cup hosting | First time in ICC Cricket World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup, Hosting Countries of the World.

Year   Host country/countries
1975 England
1979 England
1983 England
1987 India & Pakistan
1992 Australia & New Zealand
1996 India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka
1999 England
2003 South Africa, Zimbabwe & Kenya
2007 West Indies
2011 Bangladesh, India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka
2015 Australia & New Zealand
2019 England

  1. The first world cup was held in 1975 in England.
  2. The first world cup held outside England was in 1987 in India and Pakistan
  3. This is the third time the ICC Cricket World Cup has been held in Asia, with previous tournaments being held in 1987 and 1996.
  4. The first time day/night matches was used was in 1992.
  5. The first tournament to use white cricket balls and colored team uniforms was 1992.
  6. The first tournament to feature an African Test nation, South Africa, was in 1992.
  7. The first tournament held in the Southern hemisphere was 1992, when it was co-hosted in Australia and New Zealand.
  8. The first team to remain undefeated throughout the whole tournament was Australia in 2003. They repeated this feat in the 2007 tournament.
  9. The first hat-trick at the World Cup was by Indian Chetan Sharma in a game against New Zealand in 1987
  10. The first hat-trick plus one (4 wickets in 4 balls) was by Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga against South Africa (Super Eights: South Africa v Sri Lanka at Providence, Mar 28, 2007)

1 comment:

Sports Traveler said...

It would be awesome to have Cricket holidays and watch those games personally.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Follow Me